Committee Members

Little Green Steps WA (LGS WA) is proudly run by a committee made up of professionals in the fields of education for sustainability (EfS), environmental education, and Early Years Learning. The knowledge and experiences of these members creates a powerful team equipped to assist you in your journey toward sustainability.  

 You are welcome to contact the members individually, otherwise direct your email to and the Program Manager will assist you.


Amy Krupa

Amy Krupa is the Executive Officer, South East Regional Centre for Urban Landcare (SERCUL). Amy also has 13 years experience as the Education and Promotion Manager coordinating the Phosphorus Awareness Project (PAP) which educates the community through environmental education focusing on nutrient reduction strategies.

The PAP annually reaches out to 20,000 people face to face through school incursions, planting excursions, turf manager training, displays and community workshops at major events throughout Perth.

Amy has had training in Community Based Social Marketing and Enabling Change education methodologies and has applied these strategies in the running of the PAP. Amy has also had training in evaluation techniques for education programs.

Amy has developed a broad range of specific nutrient reduction educational and promotional materials eg. Fertilise Wise Guides, and resources, for all age categories.

Amy is the Treasurer of the Australian Association for Environmental Education (WA Chapter).


Dr Jennifer Pearson - Chair

Jennifer Pearson is the Vice President of the national Australian Association for Environmental Education Inc and the Convenor of the WA Chapter.

Jennifer has a teaching & lecturing career spanning over 35 years working with early years, primary, secondary and tertiary pre-service teachers in science and technology & enterprise learning areas. Her doctoral research examined how teachers in a Yr 2 and Yr 5 class implemented a new science program into their practice.

Recognition of her volunteer effort as in EfS at a state and national level was recognised in 2003 with a
Centenary Medal for Service to the Environment by the Federal Government. In 2009 Jennifer was awarded the AAEE national “Educator of the Year”.  

Education for Sustainability (EfS) is a lifelong focus and she was instrumental in initiating the Australian Schools Initiative in WA. Jennifer’s development of and volunteer work with Little Green Steps builds on her professional focus of providing support for EfS in the early years sector to ‘bridge the gap’ for educators.



Dr Elaine Lewis

Dr Elaine Lewis is the Cross Curriculum Leader at an independent public school, Perth, Western Australia.  In this role Elaine supports teachers embed the three Cross Curriculum Priorities of the WA Curriculum - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures, Australia’s Engagement with Asia, and Sustainability - into their teaching programs.  She has worked as a teacher, across K-7, for many years.  

Her research interests focus on Education for Sustainability (EfS), particularly the impact of the Australian Sustainable Schools Initiative in primary schools.  Elaine completed her doctoral research in this area, conducting a longitudinal study of EfS at a school catering for children from three to twelve years old.

In addition to Dr Lewis’ work on the Little Green Steps committee, she serves on the management committee of the Australian Association for Environmental Education - WA Chapter and is the Convenor of the Education Committee of the One World Centre Inc (WA). In all these roles Elaine is involved in many school and community-based EfS initiatives, with particular interest in the Early Years.

In 2008 Elaine was awarded the de Laeter Medal for “Outstanding Contribution to Science Teaching”.  This was followed by presentations of the national “Educator of the Year” award in 2012, and the “Sustainable Schools Educator for Western Australia” award in 2020, both from the Australian Association for Environmental Education.  In 2021 the Department of Education presented Elaine with the “Women of Achievement” award. 

Finally, Dr Lewis has experience as a sessional lecturer in environmental education at Murdoch University, as well as literacy and special needs education at Edith Cowan University Australia.